Silver Lake (Mears, MI) Area

There’s no shortage of fun to be had at the Silver Lake. Whether you like lounging by the pool, walking along Lake Michigan, skiing, hiking or ‘duning’, the Silver Lake, Michigan area is full of family friendly fun and activities.

Of course the Silver Lake Sand Dunes State Park is one of the area’s main attractions. It’s comprised of 2,900 acres park with about 2,000 acres of natural sand dunes separating Silver Lake from Lake Michigan. Silver Lake itself is a 600-acre all sports lake with a maximum depth of 96 feet.

Silver Lake is also centrally located along Lake Michigan’s east shore. It’s about 3.5 hours North East of Detroit, 25 minutes South of Ludington, 50 minutes north of Grand Haven, and a scootch over 4 hours from Chicago (all approximate driving times).

Take check out the following links for fun things to do in the area.

RENTALS
Parrot’s Landing http://www.parrotslanding.com/ – (waverunners, ski boats, Jeep Wrangler rentals; dune tours)
Silver Lake Buggy Rentals http://www.silverlakebuggys.com/
Waterdog Outfitters http://water-dog.com/ – (stand up paddleboards, kayak (single or double), bikes (single or tandem)
Wave Club Water Sport Rentals http://www.waveclubwatersports.com/ – (sand-boards, canoes, kayaks, sailboats, stand up paddleboards, pontoon boats, waverunners, ski boats)
Wild Bill’s ATV Rentals http://www.wildbillsatvs.com/

PARKS
Cedar Point County Park https://oceana.mi.us/parks/cedar-point-county-park/
Charles Mears State Park https://www.michigan.org/property/charles-mears-state-park
Sable Point Lighthouse http://www.thinkdunes.com/things-to-do/little-sable-point-lighthouse/
Silver Lake Sand Dunes www.thinkdunes.com
Silver Lake State Park www.michigandnr.com/parksandtrails/Details.aspx?type=SPRK&id=493
William Field Memorial Hart-Montague Trail www.traillink.com/trail/william-field-memorial-hart-montague-trail-state-park/

AREA ATTRACTIONS
BamBoozled www.bamboozledofhart.com/ – Escape Rooms
Cherry Point Farm and Market www.cherrypointmarket.net/
Colonial Golf Course www.colonialgolfhart.com/
Craig’s Cruisers www.craigscruisers.com/ – go carts, mini golf, arcade
Fast Trax and Gift Shop www.silverlakeamusements.com/fast-trax/ – go carts, bumper cars, gift shop
Fox Barn www.foxbarnwinery.com/ – winery
Golden Sands www.goldensandsgolfcourse.com/ – golf course
Grand View Golf Course www.grandviewgolfcourse.net/
Happy Mohawk Canoe Livery www.happymohawk.com/ – canoe, kayak, tube, and raft rentals on White River
Historic White Pine Village www.historicwhitepinevillage.org/
Lewis Farms www.lewisfarmmarket.com/ – petting zoo
Mac Wood’s Dune Rides www.macwoodsdunerides.com/ – dune buggy rides
Michigan’s Adventure www.miadventure.com – amusement park
North Star Cinemas www.northstarcinemas.com/ – movie theater
Oceana Golf Club www.oceanagolfclub.com/
Rainbow Ranch Horseback Riding www.rainbowranch-inc.com/
Rennhack Orchards Market www.rennhackorchardsmarket.com/
Sandcastles Children’s Museum www.sandcastleschildrensmuseum.com/